Home > Latest News > News About Dr. Maggie Koong

Chief Principal Dr. Maggie Koong Has Been Appointed Justice of Peace

The Government published this year’s appointments of Justices of the Peace (JPs) in the Government Gazette today (June 30). Our Chief Principal, Dr. Maggie Koong, has been appointed Non-official JP.
Dr. Koong is an active advocate for quality education in Hong Kong, China and across the world. She was World President of World Organization for Early Childhood Education (OMEP), Vice Chairperson of UNICEF-Hong Kong, and Member of Women’s Commission and Family Council. She is currently a Member of Council of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, Vice-Chairperson of Hong Kong Federation of Women and a Member of Equal Opportunities Commission. She is an NGO representative for the United Nations, a Project Advisor for the UNESCO and a member of the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference – Shanghai Committee. Her achievements in education and community service have won her many accolades, including among others a Bronze Bauhinia Star from the HKSAR Government in 2013 and Honorary Doctorate of Humane Letters awarded by Whittier College, USA in 2014. In 2015, she was awarded Honorary Fellowship by The Education University of Hong Kong in recognition of her enormous contribution to child development and education.
The JP system in Hong Kong has been practiced for more than 170 years. The main function of JPs is to visit prisons, detention centres and other institutions to ensure their effective management and that no individual is unfairly treated or deprived of his or her rights. JPs may also be required by the Chief Executive to perform other duties.
After the Handover, the HKSAR Government appointed two types of JPs according to the Justice of the Peace Ordinance. The Official JPs are government officials and will cease to hold such office if they leave the public service. The Non-official JPs are often community leaders and contributors to the Hong Kong society selected by the Honours and Non-official Justices of the Peace Selection Committee, chaired by the Chief Secretary for Administration, and recommended to the Chief Exective.

Congratulations Dr. Koong!